What

Automatic account deletion is a setting in Telegram, where if a user does not use Telegram for a specific duration, the user's account will be automatically deleted.

Settings

Telegram Settings » Privacy and Security

Inactive duration can be set to:

  • 1 Month
  • 3 Months
  • 6 Months (Default)
  • 12 Months

Notes

  • Automatic account destruction was introduced on November 19, 2014.
  • Users on older clients must update their client to change the account destruction setting.
  • Account destruction setting defaults to 6 months, if the user has never changed the setting.

So for instance, with the default setting, after 6 months of inactivity, the user's account will be automatically deleted.

First batch of account deletions / expiration

Accounts last active before November 19, 2014 will be automatically deleted on May 19, 2015 (6 months after feature release).